A Historic Moment for Indian Hockey

Yesterday, I tweeted my congratulations immediately after I learnt about the Indian team winning bronze in the Women’s #Hockey Junior World Cup. It was indeed a historic moment for Indian hockey !!!!!!!!!!!

 

For some time now, Indian hockey has not had a good run. But, finally there is something to cheer for. This is the first time a women’s team – senior or junior – has won a medal at an FIH tournament and it is the biggest achievement since the women’s seniors won the gold medal at the Manchester Commonwealth Games in 2002.

 

As you would recall, I have just taken over as president of the Indian Hockey Federation. I will strive to take Indian hockey higher than ever before. I will aim to empower the game and the players, especially the women’s teams. I am passionate about hockey and I hope to do all it takes to take the sport to newer heights. As the president of the Indian Hockey Federation, it will be my endeavour to provide the best infrastructure and facilities to the players so that they can perform well at international tournaments. I’m sure that with this latest win Indian hockey will take an even bigger leap and make winning a habit.

 

My heartiest congratulations again to the Indian junior women’s hockey team!!!!! You have done the nation and every Indian proud !!!!!!!!

 

Jai Hind !!!!!!!!

Comments
2 Responses to “A Historic Moment for Indian Hockey”
  1. satishsonam says:

    Really ,your optimism will yield excellent results and once again Hockey would get its due place..the national game .my good wishes.

    • KD Singh says:

      Thank you for your comment. Deeply appreciate the encouragement and I assure you of all the efforts that it would take to advance the cause of Hockey as the National Game.
      Keep writing. Stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

