Supreme Court’s Observation on Gang Rape….My Thoughts

Friends, it’s the beginning of a brand new week, one which should keep me busy with the Monsoon Session of Parliament. But, I promise that I will make the time to connect with you on a daily basis. Sometimes I find time to pen my thoughts in the morning, when my mind is relatively calm. On other days, like today, I am writing this late in the evening.

 

This afternoon, I learnt about the Supreme Court’s observation on a matter that is extremely close to my heart. If you have not already read or heard about it, I will share with you the operative part of what the court had to say.

The matter before the court pertained to the February 2012 gang-rape of two school-going children by 16 persons in Betma town of Madhya Pradesh.

 

For one, a Supreme Court Bench said that the Madhya Pradesh High Court order of fixing the amount Rs 2 lakh each as compensation was very deficient and inadequate.

 

Two, the Bench asked the Centre to take lead in evolving social security and welfare measures for the rape survivors for whom trauma continues throughout the life.

 

And here I’d like to cite a news report which quoted the Bench as saying: “SUCH VICTIMS CANNOT BE COMPENSATED BY ANY AMOUNT. AS A MATTER OF FACT, NO AMOUNT OF MONEY CAN RESTORE THE DIGNITY AND CONFIDENCE OF RAPE VICTIMS. HOWEVER, CERTAIN MEASURES LIKE ADEQUATE COMPENSATION, INSURANCE, EMPLOYMENT AND SOCIAL SECURITY SCHEME MAY HELP IN THE REHABILITATION OF RAPE VICTIMS TO SOME EXTENT.”

 

And last but not the least, it said that the central government must take a lead on the issue as it is not one state where such crime was happening; it is happening across the country; and no single day goes without an incident of rape being reported in the country.

 

Again, to cite the news report, the Supreme Court judges wanted to know why as a welfare state the central government is not able to provide succour to the rape survivors who suffer trauma.

 

As you all are aware, I have made it my life’s mission to see to it that no rape survivor goes without help. My team at the #KDSinghFoundation has fanned out across Haryana and it is reaching out to the rape survivors.

 

You would recall my last week’s blog post [https://kdsinghblog.wordpress.com/2013/08/03/day-after-day-every-day-we-stand-for-change/ ] in which I shared with you how my team at the #KDSinghFoundation has reached out to the families of two five-year-old girls and extended legal help to them for pursuing their cases; also, that my team succeeded in persuading a 17-year-old rape survivor in Gurgaon to return to school.

 

I am taking personal interest in the activities of my team so that every case that is brought to its attention is taken to its logical conclusion. I am personally overseeing my team’s outreach activities and monitoring their progress. My team has made a small beginning by adopting about 70 rape survivors in Haryana. I am acutely aware that a lot more needs to be done, and my team is busy in doing just that, but at the same time I’m optimistic and confident that with the help and support of YOU –  MY FRIENDS – my team will reach out to as many rape survivors as it can and offer them all possible help — be it hiring of a lawyer for fighting cases or education for the rape survivors or be it emotional and psychological support and counselling for the survivors and their families.

 

I believe in CHANGE … POSITIVE CHANGE !!!!! … and I am doing everything I can to bring about the much-needed CHANGE that you and I want to see around us.

 

Jai Hind !!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

