POVERTY OF IDEAS AND ACTION?????

Friends, I find my blog a good way to engage you all in a healthy discussion and debate … and also to share my thoughts and views on issues close to my heart. As you would know by now, I voice my opinion on issues that matter to YOU AND ME – freely and without fear.

 

This afternoon, instead of writing about my views, I thought I should seek YOUR COMMENTS on a topic which has caught my attention. As some of you would have read about it in this morning’s newspapers, a leader is reported to have told an audience in Allahabad yesterday that poverty is a state of mind. He amplified it by saying that it does not mean the scarcity of food, money or material things; on the contrary, if one possesses self-confidence, then one can overcome poverty. In this context, he cited the example of a poor woman who redeemed her self-esteem by getting associated with a self-help group.

 

Here I should make it clear that my intention is not to join issue with him or to score political brownie points. What I hope to achieve from this exercise is to be able to get a sense from YOU, MY FRIENDS, as to where YOU stand on this issue. Was he, as some people said, making a mockery of the poor?????????? Was he being insensitive to those people who may not be as fortunate as, say, you are???????????????? Also, the larger point I want to make is this: Is poverty just a slogan that people employ to make a point …… a number ….. a statistic to be used and abandoned??????? Or, as I see it, does it also imply a poverty of ideas .. of courage .. of determination to succeed, whatever be the odds??????

 

I don’t intend to trivialise the issue but is it the individual’s fault that he or she is poor ????????????? Does not the government have a duty to give such people succour, to lift them out of poverty, to ensure that equity and equality are encouraged?????? Is it not our COLLECTIVE FAILURE that so many people have to go without food, water or clothing???????? For want of a better phrase, how long will the poor be treated as a vote bank??????????????????

 

I think, and I would be very happy to hear from you on this, there needs a change in attitudes and priorities for poverty to be reduced and eventually eliminated from our midst. But for that happen, we the people – YOU AND I – must forge a national consensus on what ails this great nation of ours and how best to go about overcoming them. TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK ABOUT THIS BURNING ISSUE????? THE MORE DIVERSE YOUR COMMENTS, THE BETTER EQUIPPED I WILL BE TO FORM A CONSIDERED OPINION AND TO TAKE IT UP WITH MY PARTY COLLEAGUES AND OTHER APPROPRIATE FORA.

 

YOU ARE MY VOICE, JUST AS I AM YOUR VOICE IN PARLIAMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Think it over. Until we meet again, Jai Hind !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments
One Response to “POVERTY OF IDEAS AND ACTION?????”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. Task Oriented Junkies

    I think other web site proprietors should take this site as an model, very clean and magnificent user friendly style and design, let alone the content. You’re an expert in this topic!



Leave a Reply

