ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’M DOING EVERYTHING I CAN TO SUPPORT RAPE SURVIVORS

Friends, I thought I will devote this blog to responding to a comment about the activities of my team at the #KDSinghFoundation. Bhishm wrote (and I am reproducing his comment here for all to read: “i m not pleased with your comment it seems to be another lolipop to the victim family as other politician doing the same it is very hurtening that for social cause your foundation and teem will wait for the offence”.)
First things first; I thank Bhishm for writing in. Your feedback is always welcome.
If I understood Bhishm correctly he is saying that one, I am not the only one reaching out to the rape survivors, other politicians are doing it too; two, the support — financial, legal or psychological — that my team at the #KDSinghFoundation offers to the rape survivors is not enough; and last but not the least, my team at the Foundation waits for a rape to be reported before rushing to her rescue.
At the very outset, let me reassure Bhishm and all of you that while I understand your scepticism on more than one count, I believe that if I can make a POSITIVE CHANGE in anyone’s lives, I should. Issues such as development and women’s empowerment are close to my heart and my team is NOT reaching out to the rape survivors for narrow political gains or for making a political statement. I truly believe in making an impact … a REAL IMPACT!!!!!
I have instructed my team to reach out to as many rape survivors as it can only after realising that crimes against women are on the rise; every day new cases of violence against women are brought to my notice. Even as I reply to you my team informs me of three new cases. I, personally, can sense frustration and impatience among the families of the rape survivors and the general public alike, at the slow pace of police investigation and an even slower criminal justice system. You could argue that my team could do more; yes, absolutely, and we will.
You would recall that I regularly share with you the activities of my team and monitor the progress in individual cases. My team has adopted 70 rape survivors so far and it is providing them all possible help. My Foundation’s journey does not end with these 70 survivors; on the contrary, it has just begun. My team will reach out to more survivors as it goes forward and you will notice the difference very soon.
I’m sure there may be others who may be doing similar work; I have never claimed to be the only one doing it nor do I intend to claim all credit for it. But there are politicians and there are politicians!!!!!! I would rather my team brings about the CHANGE that you and I seek around us than wait for things to happen. I do not believe in mere lip service. The time for action is NOW !!!!!! I seek your cooperation and understanding.
As for your comment about my team waiting for a rape to happen before swinging to action, I’m sure you would understand that it is the responsibility of the government of the day to ensure proper law and order in Haryana. All I will say for now is that when it is my turn to serve the state, I will do my utmost to provide good governance … a government that responds to your needs, concerns and aspirations … and safe environment for women on the law and order front.
But there is a larger issue I want to make here: If the incidence of rape has to come down, it will require a change in our mindset and attitudes. We, as a society, will need to introspect and come up with solutions to tackle this problem of crimes against women.
Having said that, my team at the #KDSinghFoundation aims to make a difference by creating a safer environment for women and the girl-child by offering counselling and other services, too. I don’t mean to brag but my team is already doing what the government has planned but not implemented yet. You would recall my blog post where I shared my thoughts on the Supreme Court’s observations on rape and how the Bench thought that monetary compensation alone was not enough; rehabilitation of the survivors should go hand in hand, too. My team is doing just that!!!!!!!!
I think I have spoken enough; now I shall let the activities of my team at the #KDSinghFoundation speak for itself !!!!!!!!
YOU CAN CONTACT THE #KDSINGHFOUNDATION ON ITS TOLL-FREE NUMBER 1800-200-2056. I INVITE YOU TO SPEND A DAY WITH MY TEAM SO YOU CAN SEE FOR YOURSELF WHAT MY FOUNDATION IS DOING. YOUR COMMENTS WILL BE HIGHLY APPRECIATED.
Jai Hind!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

