RAPE SURVIVORS AND THEIR FAMILIES NEED EMPATHY MORE THAN SYMPATHY

Friends, I would like to share with you some of the recent activities of my team at the #KDSinghFoundation. My team came across an extremely tragic case of a 16-year-old girl from Mewat who was kidnapped and gang-raped over a year ago. That was not all — the girl’s family was forced out of the village after the incident. Today the family is living in a rented accommodation outside the village. My team has made contact with the girl’s family and held a few rounds of discussions with them. I am happy to report that my team has appointed a lawyer to pursue her case; the foundation will bear all the legal expenses. 

 Since we are supporting all these families, it is critical that during moments of joy and sorrow, we must reflect our care towards them. As you know festive season is here (Eid), so I had instructed my team to reach out to the families of all the rape survivors who have been adopted by the #KDSinghFoundation and greet them with tokens of our support. My team informed me that all the families were glad to receive Festive Greetings.

In another case in Mewat village, my team met an 18-year-old girl, who had been gangraped continuously for nine days and later thrown on the road!! My team was told that owing to societal pressure, one of the accused agreed to marry this girl; and she is now living as his second wife. When my team caught up with this girl, she was extremely happy to meet them because in all these months after she was gangraped no one had cared to enquire about her well-being. Imagine the extent of societal insensitivity!!!!!

 

Here I must share with you all that most of these families had been boycotted by friends and relatives soon after the incident of rape became known. That is why I insisted that my team at the #KDSinghFoundation must meet them just to let them know that there is somebody who cares for them … that they should not feel lonely … and that they now are members of the extended family of the #KDSinghFoundation, and all possible help would be extended to them in order for them to overcome the trauma and to start living as normal a life as is possible. And I am extremely happy and fortunate that I have been able to bring a smile to their faces after all that they had to suffer!!!

 

At the same time, there is a more serious issue that needs the urgent attention of the society at large: The fact that most of these families had faced social boycott goes to show that society needs to be sensitised to issues such as crimes against women … society needs to be urged to support #rape survivors and their families. As I have repeatedly mentioned in my blogs, incidents of rape are only going up … every day many new cases of rape are reported… and it is only getting worse!!!!! I am hearing about the rape of a three-year-old girl ( http://ibnlive.in.com/news/man-rapes-3yearold-girl-after-luring-her-with-biscuits/412747-3-236.html ) … isn’t it sickening??????!!

 

Friends, lets come together in this moment of need and bring about the change that we all believe in!!!!!!

 

Jai Hind !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Comments
One Response to “RAPE SURVIVORS AND THEIR FAMILIES NEED EMPATHY MORE THAN SYMPATHY”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] case but there is no word yet on the verdict. How can there be closure for the family of the rape survivor when legal battles go on forever?????? Barely had we recovered from the #DelhiGangRape that the […]



Leave a Reply

