Raksha Bandhan: An occasion to renew our pledges!!!

Happy Raksha Bandhan

Friends, on the auspicious occasion of Raksha Bandhan, I extend my warm greetings and good wishes to you and your families!!!!!!

Today, when men of all ages renew their commitment to the Bond of Protection for their sisters, I’d like YOU – BROTHERS, FATHERS, SONS AND HUSBANDS – to take a moment or two to go beyond the symbolism associated with the festival and strive to translate words and ideals into action, too. After all, it doesn’t take much effort, does it, to stand up in solidarity with the girl who is being stalked or harassed on a bus or in the Metro or in a mall … to speak out against bullies and bullying … to protect them from sexual offenders.

Simply put, I urge you to spare a thought for the countless women and girls who are harassed, bullied, pushed around, intimidated, stalked, molested … or raped!!! A small, timely gesture from YOU can save someone from a lifetime of pain, agony, trauma and insecurity. I urge you to stand up and pledge #WeWillBeTheChange….pledge to BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!

NOW is the time for REAL ACTION and NOT just candy floss chats on “Women’s Empowerment” … NOW is the time for #RapeFreeNationNOW is the time for EMPOWERING WOMEN … NOW is the time to STAND FOR CHANGE.

With my #KDSinghFoundation team, I have pledged dedicated support to the daughters and sisters in Haryana and beyond. My team at the Foundation has reached out to the rape survivors in Haryana, to begin with. On the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, I convey my good wishes to all the 73 rape survivors and their families that my team at the #KDSinghFoundation has adopted for providing them with legal, medical and other rehabilitation support. It will be my constant endeavour to protect and support my sisters and daughters in Haryana and beyond.

Going beyond the traditional meaning of “Raksha Bandhan”, I promote the bond of “Social Change”. As I have mentioned earlier, my team will soon start outreach programmes for youth and also, focus on education and health care. I urge you to join me on in this journey of social regeneration. #KDSinghFoundation is a small step towards building a better future of this country, for which, one day I hope hundreds of thousands of countrymen and women will come forward, with their support, I aim to build a safe society for all.

Once again, I wish you all a very happy Raksha Bandhan!!!!!!..

Jai Hind!!!!!!

Comments
3 Responses to “Raksha Bandhan: An occasion to renew our pledges!!!”
  1. Rajveer Singh says:

    We believe in your wide vision and your thoughts for the protection of Women & Youth. As you and your team is a regular contributor to it. In fact, you are trying to run a parallel government, which is extremely difficult. However, we are here to be a part of the change, you want to bring to the state. We believe, you are going to crack this dark enigma of Politics. On this auspicious occasion of Raksha Bandhan, we take pledge to protect our Rights, Women, Youth, Education etc. We will not let anybody exploit us and our rights anymore. We are with your movement.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Raksha Bandhan: An occasion to renew our pledges!!! Posted by KD Singh on August 20, 2013 · 1 Comment … My team at the Foundation has reached out to the rape survivors in Haryana, to begin with. On the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, …  […]



Leave a Reply

