Lord Krishna’s teachings are eternal

Jai Shree Krishna!On my behalf and on behalf of my team at KD Singh Foundation, I greet you on Janmashtami

Friends, on the auspicious occasion of Janmashtami, I extend my heartiest greetings and wishes to you and your families.

Janmashtami, which marks the birth of Lord Krishna, is celebrated by Indians at home and abroad. It is a time for recalling all the pious and spiritual feelings of devotion. The festival is celebrated in many different ways. One of the most popular ways is the breaking of ‘Dahi Handi’ by Gopis and Gokuls who practice for months to get it right or the traditional way of fasting and feasting.

His life has reinforced the concept of good emerging victorious over evil, whether it was an infant Krishna slaying the mighty Putna, taming the vicious Kaliya Nag, or later, annihilating the cruel Kansa. His immortal image that stands up against evil is needed in these modern times, especially at a time when crimes against women are on the rise. We need a Krishna-like figure who will save a “Draupadi” from a “Duryodhan” as it happened in the Mahabharata.

Lord Krishna always stood for a just cause and I draw my inspiration from his teachings. He is remembered as a loving friend and a protector but he is also the teacher who gave us the mantra of ‘Nishkama Karma’, the principle of fulfilling one’s duty without the thought of reward.

I believe in the power of change and in leading by example. I dream of a #RapeFreeNation where women are treated with respect and where men can imbibe the spirit of Lord Krishna’s teachings. My team and I at the #KDSinghFoundation have reached out to the rape survivors in Haryana and beyond and are providing them with legal and medical support and rehabilitation. I am guided in my mission by my belief in selfless service and commitment to the public good.

Friends, Lord Krishna’s message to Arjuna on the battlefield is as relevant today as ever:

Lord Krishnaकर्मण्येवाधिकारस्ते मा फलेषु कदाचन । 

मा कर्मफलहेतुर्भूर्मा ते सङ्गोऽस्त्वकर्मणि।।

(One’s right is only to carry out one’s duties and activities without expecting anything in return. Let not one’s work be derived with a selfish motive; rather there should be a selfless approach towards the work to be done.)

Once again, I convey my greetings on the auspicious occasion of Janmashtami. Let us pledge for the safety of women and recommit ourselves to removing this evil from our midst.

Jai Hind!!!

Comments
One Response to “Lord Krishna’s teachings are eternal”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Lord Krishna’s teachings are eternal (kdsinghblog.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

