Happy Teacher’s Day!!!

A time to strengthen Teacher-Student bond

Friends, I extend my warm greetings to all the teachers on the occasion of Teacher’s Day!! A feeling of nostalgia overpowers me as I think about the teachers who taught me at school and college. I’m sure you would feel the same way about your time in school.


The nation has been celebrating Teacher’s Day since 1962 in memory of the birth anniversary of philosopher, statesman and teacher par excellence, Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, who was the second President of India from 1962 to 1967 and also the first Vice President of India (1952–1962).

happy teacher's dayimage source: (indiatoday.intoday.in)

As the story goes, Dr Radhakrishnan’s students wanted to celebrate his birthday, which falls on 5 September, but he urged them instead to celebrate the day as Teacher’s Day in honour of every teacher, and not just him alone. Dr Radhakrishnan’s contributions to the Indian education system is outstanding. He believed that “teachers should be the best minds in the country”.                                                                                                                                                                     

So, on the occasion of Teacher’s Day I once again salute the teachers for their dedication, devotion and for ch)oosing this noble profession.

Friends, I am what I am, in no small measure, to the guidance I received from my elders and my teachers. I believe #IndiaNeeds teachers, now more than ever, to groom young minds. Human resource is invaluable in #NationBuilding; it is a priceless asset. The country needs young professionals to excel in their chosen fields, be it technology, arts or business, and who better than a teacher to groom them and guide them so that we create a human pool of talent.

Here, I am reminded of a Bertrand Russell quote, which says: ‘The task of a liberal education [is] to give a sense of the value of things other than domination, to help create wise citizens of a free community, and through the combination of citizenship with liberty in individual creativeness to enable men to give to human life that splendour which some few have shown that it can achieve’.

Teachers’ contribution to creating responsible citizens cannot be overemphasised. It pains me to see women being treated the way they are, in the cities, towns and villages of our country even today. It is doubly sad that rapes take place at an alarming regularity. Unfortunately, the teacher-student relationship has become vulnerable to abuse and exploitation, too. If you search for ‘teacher raping students’ you will come across many cases from India and abroad.

Building on the values instilled in me by my teachers, I have started my #KDSinghFoundation so that I can give something back to the society. I am guided by my belief that with faith and dedication, positive change can become a reality. My Foundation has adopted 86 rape survivors in Haryana, to begin with, for providing them with legal and medical support; and rehabilitation. I encourage people to #ReportARape at my Foundation’s 24×7 toll-free help line number 1800-200-2056. My Foundation is also in the process of launching #YouthEducation and health care activities.

As I said before, I stand for Change, and I will bring you Change!!!!

Jai Hind

Ends

Leave a Reply

